The Four Pillars

” In 1919, The America Legion was founded on four pillars: Veterans Affairs & Rehabilitation, National Security, Americanism, and Children & Youth.

Each of these pillars encompasses a variety of programs that benefit our nation’s veterans, its servicemembers, their families, the youth of America and ordinary citizens. These Pillarsprograms make a difference in hundreds of thousands of lives each year.

Our organization’s positions and programs are guided by resolutions passed by American Legion National Convention delegates, and committee and commission members who represent 2.6 million wartime veterans and their families. These programs, and the men and women who take the time to perform them, are what allow The American Legion to make a difference locally, and on the state and national levels.” *

At Post 450 we are committed to the programs of the Four Pillars both directly and indirectly through fund raising, community service, volunteering, and other support efforts.

The Four Pillars are:

I. Veterans Affairs & Rehabilitation
II. National Security
III. Americanism
IV. Children & Youth

  • – From The American Legion “Four Pillars” pamphlet.

Random image